Summary of the mineral resources in Dona Ana County, New Mexico
— Virginia T. McLemore


Value of production from 14 mining districts in Doña Ana County is estimated as $3 million during 1849-1961. The majority of past metal production came from the Organ Mountains district, which is the sixth largest lead-producing district in New Mexico. Deposit types found in the county include carbonate-hosted Pb- Zn replacements, skarns, Ag-bearing pegmatites, epithermal/mesothermal veins, Rio Grande rift barite-fluorite- galena deposits, Cu breccia deposits, sedimentary-hosted Fe, epithermal Mn, veins and replacements in Precambrian rocks, and volcanic-epithermal deposits. Copper-molybdenum porphyry deposits may also occur in the Organ district. Other mining districts with minor production include the Aden, Brickland, Bear Canyon, Black Mountain, Doña Ana Mountains, Iron Hill, Northern Franklin Mountains, Rincon, Potrillo Mountains, San Andrecito-Hembrillo, San Andres Canyon, Tonuco Mountain, and Tortugas Mountains. Only industrial minerals are being produced from the county currently.

Full-text (5.41 MB PDF)

Recommended Citation:

  1. McLemore, Virginia T., 1998, Summary of the mineral resources in Dona Ana County, New Mexico, in: Las Cruces Country II, Mack, G. H.; Austin, G. S.; Barker, J. M., New Mexico Geological Society, Guidebook, 49th Field Conference, pp. 299-307.

[see guidebook]