New Mexico Geological Society Annual Spring Meeting
April 12, 2019

Accepted Abstracts

Program also available in PDF format



 Lobby: 7:30 AM - 12:00 PM

NMGS Business Meeting and Student Awards Ceremony

 Auditorium: 8:00 AM - 8:30 AM

NMBGMR Presentation of Earth Science Achievement Award to Barry Kues

 Auditorium: 8:30 AM - 8:45 AM

Keynote Address: The Tectonics of the Central Rio Grande Rift:

 Auditorium: 8:45 AM - 9:30 AM
 Chair: Shari Kelley
W. Scott Baldridge
8:45 AM - 9:30 AM

Break I

 Lobby: 9:30 AM - 9:45 AM

Geophysics I:

 Main Auditorium: 9:45 AM - 11:15 AM
 Chair: Alex Rinehart
James C Witcher and Howard P. Ross
9:45 AM - 10:00 AM
Lewis Land, Colin Cikoski, George Veni, and David McCraw
10:00 AM - 10:15 AM
Kyle Anderson Stark, Dr. Daniel Cadol, Dr. Jonathan B. Laronne, and Madeline Richards
10:15 AM - 10:30 AM
Alex J Rinehart, Jeffrey Kennedy, Daniel Cadol, Shari Kelley, Madeline Richards, and Kyle Stark
10:30 AM - 10:45 AM
Ronni Grapenthin, Alex Rinehart, Shari Kelley, Mark Person, and Emily Graves
10:45 AM - 11:00 AM
Libby Kahler, Meghan Bell, Andrew Roberston, and Jeffrey Kennedy
11:00 AM - 11:15 AM

Paleontology, Stratigraphy, Volcanology and Sedimentology:

 Galena Room: 9:45 AM - 11:15 AM
Randy J Pence and Spencer G. Lucas
9:45 AM - 10:00 AM
Asher J Lichtig and Spencer G Lucas
10:00 AM - 10:15 AM
Timothy James and Gary Morgan
10:15 AM - 10:30 AM
Spencer G. Lucas, Karl Krainer, and Bruce D. Allen
10:30 AM - 10:45 AM
René A. De Hon and Richard A. Earl
10:45 AM - 11:00 AM
Michael G Chirigos and Gary Axen
11:00 AM - 11:15 AM

Break II

 Lobby: 11:15 AM - 11:30 AM

Environmental Geology and Hydrology I:

 Galena Room: 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
 Chair: Daniel Cadol
Theodore Miller and J. Bruce Harrison
11:30 AM - 11:45 AM
Gage Richards Lamborn, Victor French, and Kevin M Hobbs
11:45 AM - 12:00 PM
Max Fajardo
12:00 PM - 12:15 PM
Gabriel Edwin Lee Parrish, Jan M. H. Hendrickx, Fred M Phillips, and Daniel Cadol
12:15 PM - 12:30 PM

Geophysics II:

 Main Auditorium: 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
 Chair: Alex Rinehart
Robert E Anthony, Adam T Ringler, and David C Wilson
11:30 AM - 11:45 AM
Mairi M Litherland
11:45 AM - 12:00 PM
Susan L. Bilek
12:00 PM - 12:15 PM
Glenn A. Spinelli, Heather Barnes, Peter S. Mozley, and Johnny Hinojosa
12:15 PM - 12:30 PM


 On your own -or- catered Student-Professional Mixer (pre-registration required): 12:30 PM - 1:45 PM

Environmental Geology and Hydrology II:

 Galena Room: 1:45 PM - 3:30 PM
 Chair: Daniel Cadol
Tyler Sproule, Glenn Spinelli, John Wilson, Michael Fort, Peter Mozley, Johnny Hinojosa, and Jared Ciarico
1:45 PM - 2:00 PM
Daniel J. Koning, Colin T. Cikoski, Andrew P. Jochems, and Alex T. Rinehart
2:00 PM - 2:15 PM
Alexandra Rose Pearce, Kierran C Maher, and Karissa G Rosenberger
2:15 PM - 2:30 PM
Melinda Horne, Mark Person, Shari Kelley, James Witcher, and Matthew Folsom
2:30 PM - 2:45 PM
Geoffrey Rawling and Shari Kelley
2:45 PM - 3:00 PM
Jon K Golla, Laura J Crossey, Karl E Karlstrom, and Abdul-Mehdi S Ali
3:00 PM - 3:15 PM

Structural and Economic Geology:

 Main Auditorium: 1:45 PM - 3:30 PM
Jolante van Wijk, Gary Axen, and Claire Currie
1:45 PM - 2:00 PM
Jacob Oliver Thacker, Shari A. Kelley, Karl E. Karlstrom, Jerry J. Kendall, and Ryan S. Crow
2:00 PM - 2:15 PM
Michelle M. Gavel, Jeffrey M Amato, Jason W Ricketts, and Shari A Kelley
2:15 PM - 2:30 PM
Daniel Joseph Young, Lisa Gaston, Matt Heizler, and Karl Karlstrom
2:30 PM - 2:45 PM
Bright Duah and William Bill Chávez Jnr
2:45 PM - 3:00 PM
Ryan Joseph Helms
3:00 PM - 3:15 PM
Dante Padilla and William X. Chávez Jr.
Booth: -unassigned-

Poster Session:

 Lobby: 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM
Sabrina V Moore, Charles R Hutt, Robert E Anthony, Adam T Ringler, Alexis C B Alejandro, and David C Wilson
Booth: 1
Alexis C. B. Alejandro, Adam T. Ringler, David C. Wilson, Robert E. Anthony, and Sabrina V. Moore
Booth: 2
Emily Jo Graves and Ronni Grapenthin
Booth: 3
Jeffrey Pepin, Jared Peacock, Mark Person, Brad Sion, Shari Kelley, and JJ Butler
Booth: 4
Nicholas G. Harrison and Virginia T. McLemore
Booth: 5
Ryan Mann and Jennifer Lindline
Booth: 6
Madeline A Richards, Daniel Cadol, Kyle Stark, Jonathan Laronne, and David Varyu
Booth: 7
Brittany Lyn Griego, Laura Crossey, Livia Crowley, Abigail Axness, Ryan Webb, and Adrian Marziliano
Booth: 8
Cory A Griego, Victor E French, and Kevin M Hobbs
Booth: 9
Christopher Wolf, Amy Ewing, Elizabeth Bastien, and Katherine Yuhas
Booth: 10
Tyler Sproule, John Wilson, Glenn Spinelli, Michael Fort, Peter Mozley, and Johnny Hinojosa
Booth: 11
Raven Jackson
Booth: 12
Brian A. Hampton, Samantha R. Bartnik, Greg H. Mack, and Cody J. Stopka
Booth: 13
Eric J Kappus, Anthony Alvarez, Joe Cancellare, and Spencer G. Lucas
Booth: 14
Samantha R. Bartnik, Brian A. Hampton, and Greg H. Mack
Booth: 15
Bruce D. Allen, Spencer G. Lucas, Karl Krainer, Filiberto Gomez, Mauro Torres, and Chris Hurren
Booth: 16
Karl Krainer, Spencer G. Lucas, and James E. Barrick
Booth: 17
Asher J Lichtig and Spencer G Lucas
Booth: 18
Adrian P Hunt and Spencer G Lucas
Booth: 19
Charles A Turner, Asher Jacob Lichtig, Spencer G Lucas, and Adrian P Hunt
Booth: 20
Paul L. Sealey and Spencer G. Lucas
Booth: 21
Paul L. Sealey and Spencer G. Lucas
Booth: 22
Jennifer Lindline, Richard Pratt, and Michael Petronis
Booth: 23